top of page

Kaela's Blog

Navigating the Path of Healing: Understanding the Stages of Grief

Grief is a universal human experience, a journey that each of us will inevitably embark upon at some point in our lives. Whether triggered by the loss of a loved one, the end of a significant relationship, or any other form of major life change, grief is a complex and multifaceted process that demands our attention and understanding. To traverse this emotional terrain effectively, it's essential to comprehend the stages of grief and the healing that comes with navigating them. In this blog post, we'll explore the well-known stages of grief—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—and offer insights into how individuals can navigate these stages on their path to healing.

The Stages of Grief

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, a Swiss-American psychiatrist, introduced the concept of the five stages of grief in her groundbreaking book "On Death and Dying." These stages are not necessarily linear, nor does everyone experience them in the same order. Instead, they serve as a framework to understand the range of emotions that individuals may encounter during the grieving process.

  1. Denial: Denial is often the first response to loss. It's a protective mechanism that helps us cope with overwhelming emotions. During this stage, individuals may struggle to accept the reality of their loss, often feeling numb or disconnected.

  2. Anger: As the shock of denial wanes, anger can emerge. Individuals may direct their anger towards themselves, others, or even the situation that caused the loss. Anger is a natural response to the feelings of helplessness and injustice that often accompany grief.

  3. Bargaining: This stage is marked by attempts to negotiate or bargain with a higher power in an effort to reverse or alleviate the loss. Individuals may find themselves making promises or trying to find ways to "undo" what has happened.

  4. Depression: During this phase, the full weight of the loss can set in, leading to profound feelings of sadness, hopelessness, and isolation. It's important to note that depression in grief is different from clinical depression, and seeking support is crucial during this time.

  5. Acceptance: The final stage doesn't imply happiness or complete resolution of grief. Instead, it signifies coming to terms with the reality of the loss. Individuals in this stage begin to find ways to integrate the loss into their lives and adapt to a new normal.

Navigating the Healing Journey

Understanding these stages can offer a roadmap for those navigating the grieving process. However, it's essential to remember that grief is a unique and personal experience, and not everyone will go through each stage. Additionally, individuals may move back and forth between stages or experience them differently over time.

  1. Allow Emotions to Surface: Suppressing emotions can impede the healing process. Acknowledge and validate your feelings, whether they're anger, sadness, confusion, or even moments of relief.

  2. Seek Support: Grief can be isolating, but you're not alone. Reach out to friends, family, support groups, or a mental health professional who can offer a safe space to express your emotions.

  3. Practice Self-Compassion: Be patient with yourself and avoid self-judgment. Grief is not a linear process, and healing takes time.

  4. Create Rituals and Memories: Honoring the memory of what was lost can be healing. Engage in rituals, create a memorial, or participate in activities that hold significance.

  5. Professional Help: If grief becomes overwhelming or impacts your daily functioning, seeking professional help is crucial. Mental health professionals, such as therapists and counselors, can provide guidance and tools to navigate the complexities of grief.

Reach Out for Support

Remember, you don't have to navigate the journey of grief alone. If you or someone you know is struggling with the grieving process, reaching out for support is a sign of strength. Kaela Rae Vance LPCCS is here to assist you on your path to healing. As a licensed professional specializing in grief and trauma, Kaela offers a compassionate and experienced approach to help you navigate the stages of grief. You can take the first step towards healing by calling 614-647-HELP (4357). Remember, seeking help is a vital part of the healing process, and you deserve the support you need during this challenging time.


bottom of page